The Pre Race Cold

Do you see this?  Do you?  DO YOU?

That’s right, three days before the start of Run Week 2012 I have a damned cold.  Note I say cold and not something to the effect of “Hide your kids, hide your wife, the Black Death has returned.”  Despite my snot nosed, eye crusted, soar throated and plugged ear status, I still feel ready to run this weekend.  As long as it stays above the neck I’m fine.

A few things I have done right fighting this damned pre-race cold

I did something very, very unusual for me:  I called in sick to work yesterday.  My boss was so stunned he vowed to let me sleep all day.  And I did.

I slept all day yesterday.  (Well, not all day.  I took a break to bake carrot cake cupcakes for the dogs for Niles’ 13th birthday.  No, I’m not kidding.  Everyone loved them and had orange poop this morning.  Amazing.)

I am drinking loads of water and orange juice (okay, and a little iced coffee).

I am enjoying a second sinus rinse each day, which has made the difference between breathing and not breathing through my nose.  Awesome.

So there you have it. I have a pre-race cold but I am going to live.  Shocker.

Now onto exciting race preparations!  I am getting super excited about Half Moon Bay this weekend.  Super, super excited.  I grew up just a few blocks from the start line so this is literally like going home for me.  I can’t wait to see old friends and meet up with new friends.  Plus, how do you not love sub-60’s weather with fog?  Okay, okay.  I know I’m weird.  I love the cold and the fog.

I’m pretty much all packed up and ready to go for the weekend.  Let’s face it.  There really isn’t a lot to pack other than my race clothes, socks and shoes.  And my photo id for picking up my bib.  Of course, I’ll be bringing some race nutritional support and post race compression socks.  Oh, and the KT tape.  Nail clippers.  Foam roller.  Yoga mat.  Wait..I might not be as ready to go yet as I think I am.  Dammit.

For next week I coerced Dianne into attending the crazy person’s expo on Thursday for Tahoe.  I’m not kidding when I say I am intimidated.  I have no doubt I will finish the Trifecta but I am not exactly the spitting image of an endurance runner, people.  So in exchange for pasta, Dianne is my moral support.  I am so very, very happy she is coming with me.

I’ve also decided not to step on the scale and eat like the champion I am.  No, I’m not out there downing Twinkies and pumpkin spice chai lattes like they are going out of style.  I am eating well balanced, carefully thought out meals to make sure I have the energy and reserves I need to run and run and run.  I routinely consume 1,400-1,600 calories a day.  I estimate I will be burning 1,800 and 2,500 calories per day for many days.  (I wear a heart rate monitor so I will let you know how that works out.)  That would put me at a pretty brutal deficit over the course of the week.  The single most important thing I learned from my 33 mile weekend is to eat well but eat MORE.  I had such limited reserves that I was hitting the wall as soon as I walked out my door for the two weeks after.  Let’s not repeat that, shall we?

