The Recovery Strategy

I ran a lot this weekend. Now for some serious recovery so I can do it all over again.

My recovery strategy for this weekend’s 33 mile adventure has been pretty simple:

  • Walk
  • Stretch
  • Yoga
  • Hydrate
  • Eat responsibly
  • Rest

Thus far this has gone very well:

I walked to and from work yesterday, logging 4 miles.  I stretched periodically throughout the day, drank plenty of water and ate healthy balanced meals.  Surprisingly, I did not give into the urge to consume nothing but cookies, ice cream and Snickers bars all day.  Trust me, the thought crossed my mind more than once.  This always happens when I operate within a deep calorie deficit over several days.

I was, however, inspired by a new blueberry cream cheese muffin recipe from Sarah over at Gazing In, tweaking it a bit to reduce calories (swapped stevia for the white sugar) and available ingredients (Greek yogurt for apple sauce-yes, this works plus gives a little protein kick).  The result was a perfectly delicious, lower calorie snack that cured my exercise induced sweet tooth.  (Note:  I am enjoying one of these delectable muffins as I write accompanied by my iced coffee this morning and it is truly heavenly.)

After enjoying a muffin, a few more glasses of water and a well deserved bubble bath, I was in bed by 7:30 and apparently unconscious by 7:31.

I woke up 10 hours later feeling refreshed, significantly looser and ready to tackle some yoga.  I went over to Yoga Today and was absolutely delighted that this week’s free video was “Build Consonance with Power and Grace.”  I swear this routine was developed specifically with my 33 mile run in mind.  It was absolutely blissful, deeply stretching out all those parts of me that were still a little stiff and yes, even a touch sore, while focusing my mind and energy.  It felt so good, right up until the point the boy asked me a question and I looked over my shoulder, exhaling suddenly mid pigeon and my hip popped, shooting lightning down my entire right leg.  I’m not going to lie.  I cried out in pain.  It hurt A LOT but pain is temporary and I took a deep breath, let the pain subside and continued on without further incident.  Note:  Do not let yourself get distracted during yoga.

On the blister front:  All of my blisters receded without incident.  I do have a couple scabs where my heart rate monitor chest strap did a number on me but they also aren’t an issue.  As for other areas of chafing, those too are all clear.  Thank god.  I was a little worried.

I am very pleased with my recovery.  The fatigue is all but gone and while I am still a little tight in places, overall I am feeling great.  I am still not exactly sure I will be diving back into Insanity tonight as planned.  Today’s workout is “Cardio Power & Resistance .”  There is a lot of jumping and fast movements for my sore and tired body.  Insanity is tough and I absolutely love that about it but running 33 miles is also tough and I might wimp out and push that off until tomorrow and hit the gym instead for some cycling followed by a slow easy run.  I still have 34 miles to log this week, after all.

And now for some self motivation:

 

