Five Days of Fun

Well that was a weekend and a half!  I certainly hope you all had just as much fun as I did.  That might not be possible though because I really had a lot of fun!

Thursday night, I put in a quick run then headed over to the bowling alley to pre-bowl Fourth of July with the team.  Holy crap, we had a great series.  All three of my games were over 100, which is a first!  (I’ve told you before I am a bad bowler!)  We hung out, drank a few beers, put in our games and then headed out for another round of mini golf.  Pretty darned fun if you ask me!

I took Friday off from work to go play with the dogs and the team.  I don’t do this often but one of my favorite dock jumping competitions was in town.  How could I resist?  I couldn’t.  So I didn’t.  I’m happy I didn’t because the dogs did really well!  Smokey jumped a nice big 18’11” jump.  Penelope made her post surgical debut with a nice 10’3” jump.  She typically jumps around 8-9’ (with a personal best of 11’1”) so it is safe to say she is feeling pretty darned good!  The other kids also did well and more importantly we all had a lot of fun.

Saturday and Sunday we had a local flyball tournament as well.  Other than a ridiculously large police presence in the tiny town of Virginia City, NV which made me perpetually nervous about my speed, use of turn signals and whether or not I parked correctly, it was a nifty venue.  The wind, however, was horrendous.  We are talking 50 MPH gusts.  Despite the fact that it is late June I actually look like I have been skiing, the wind burn is so bad.  The dogs and team did really well again.  We came home with lots of prizes and plenty of points.  But despite the fact that we were home by 5 PM both days, I didn’t run like I had planned.  Instead, I was unconscious sitting upright on the couch by 5:30 PM both nights.  Flyball is exhausting!

So my three day weekend was pretty much fabulous.  The only thing I regret is not getting my miles in.  I do get a really good work out from flyball, but it isn’t a substitute for good old fashioned miles.  I suppose I will just have to suck it up and get on with it.

