Run It, Bake It, Kick It

Sing it with me now: "Oh what a beautiful morning! Oh what a beautiful day! I've got a wonderful feeling everything's going my way."

Good morning happy people on the interweb.

I don’t know about all of you but today feels like it is going to be a great day.  The sun is shining.  The birds are singing.  The sugar free Red Bull is flowing…

It also doesn’t hurt that I had an absolutely fantastic weekend.  You know, one of those completely mundane run of the mill super busy weekends that is perfect in every way?  I was combination super athlete, domestic engineer extraordinaire and kick back lounge lizard.

Super Athlete
Okay, I know that at 200 lbs I am in no way, shape or form a super athlete but I had three really solid work outs this weekend that left me feeling strong, confident and happy.  Friday, I put in three miles of speed work on the treadmill.  Interestingly, combining two things I hate made both not only tolerable but fun.  Weird.  Saturday, I ran four miles including a nice fat and juicy hill.  I had planned to run six but my right knee was swollen after one too many 180 knee slides at derby.  I erred on the side of caution and it turned out to be a good call.  Sunday, I ventured out with Nikki for a 3 mile mountainous snowshoe expedition at Incline Village.  We cut our own tracks in fresh, gorgeous snow.  The conditions were nothing short of perfect and I really felt the work out.  Did I mention that I walked or rode my bike to the store no fewer than three times to pick up varying items I kept forgetting?  I’d say that is a pretty well rounded weekend.

Nikki climbing Mount Everest...Okay, not really. But it was a big ridge over Lake Tahoe.

Domestic Engineer Extraordinaire
My mom likes to refer to housewives as domestic engineers.  This weekend, I’d like to think I played the part and then some.  For example, Saturday I made delicious individual strawberry shortcakes for a dinner party.  I also skillfully groomed all the dogs, masterfully completed several loads of laundry, organized the home office, arranged a small dinner party of my own, downloaded new tunes and oh yeah and had a rum and coke ready for the boy when he arrived home from helping a friend move furniture because even though I am a very progressive woman, the boy deserved after getting me out of having to move furniture too.  Good man.

Drew, Emma and Isabella are helping with the office organization. They also look quite dapper after their hair cuts, bathes and pedicures if I do say so myself.

Kick Back Lounge Lizard
The weekend ended perfectly by lounging around the outdoor fire pit, listening to music, enjoying a few drinks and throwing random toys for the dogs.  Perfect.  Absolutely perfect.

Who wouldn't want to spend a Sunday night lounging in front of the fire? There were at least three other fire pits ablazin' in our neighborhood alone last night.

Today I feel great:  rested, clear headed and ready to tackle the challenges of the week (and there will be many this week).  Let’s do this people.

Dear Rambo: If you throw the ball in the fire pit, we can't throw it for you. Thank you!

How about you?  How was your weekend?  Do you feel like singing “Oh What a Beautiful Morning” from Oklahoma?

