The Hills are Alive with the Sound of Hacking

I ran!  I was slow, stiff and rather whiney but I ran.  And it felt good.  And bad.  But mostly good.

I headed back to Evans Canyon with the expectation of putting in 2-3 slow miles.  Yes, I hate short runs.  Yes, I hate hills.  Yes, this run would feature both.  But it was close to home, had plenty of opportunities to extend or (gulp) shorten my route if need be because let’s face it, I have felt awful the last few runs.  And I just like it because maybe I don’t hate hills quite as much as I used to.

The weather was gorgeous so the trail was packed with mountain bikers, walkers and of course other runners.  And their dogs.  Lots of dogs.  Which is fine because I like dogs.  The first half mile or so was a constant traffic jam of leaping off to the side of the trail so mountain bikers or families with strollers and misbehaving toddlers could get by me.  Sure it slowed me down but it also gave me a chance to catch my breath, which was tragically in short supply.  The run was interesting.  There were moments where I felt like myself:  strong, powerful, marginally speedy.  There were moments where I felt like I had never run a day in my life:  slow, stiff, incapable of putting one foot in front of the other.  I ran a lot but walked a far amount.  I hacked up a few hair balls but for the most part my breathing was almost normal.  But in the end, I did it while I was abnormally tired, I actually felt kind of good.  And it all amounted to 2.5 miles in 30 minutes.  Oh yeah.  I am awesome.  Can you hear the sarcasm in my voice?

Still, it was something and to celebrate I headed over to the gym for a little core work and upper body weights.  Who knew side planks, sit ups and wall sits could feel so good?  And surprisingly, I had to increase the weights for my normal routine.  A few days off has done me some good after all.  There might be hope for me yet!

