Day 24 of the Black Death

I woke up sweating, coughing and unable to muster the energy to whisper even a half hearted “quiet!” to the puppy, who was of course barking.  She is a good girl and does not like to have accidents so she gives a very loud, very forceful warning when she has to go.  I crawled out of bed, padded down the hallway, grateful puppy in tow. 

Gratiutous Puppy Photo

While she did her business I got to mine:  preparing my multi-grain hot cereal with almonds, brown sugar (don’t judge me) and coconut milk which I enjoy simply for the flavor.  I put all of the above in the microwave, hit start and promptly blew a fuse turning off power to half the house.  Yup, 2012 is off to an excellent start.

Actually, resetting the fuse and a really hot shower I feel better but one thing is abundantly clear:  I still cannot breathe well enough to run tonight.  Walking the two blocks from my car to my office was an exciting adventure wrought with phlegm and fits of violent coughing that I was sure was going to result in a pulled muscle.  But still, I am better.  Really.

Since I couldn’t run yesterday, I did the next best thing.  I ate dinner with a couple friends who have decided to embark on lifestyle changes of their own.  We discussed the evils of processed foods, the importance of tracking food and the necessity of finding exercise you enjoy.  It was actually a lot of fun and in their enthusiasm; I recaptured some of my own.  As a result, I even took the time to compile my snacks for the week so that I always have something good available.   And of course I was all inspired to run today, which of course I can’t seem to do.  But their positive attitude is as infectious as the rampant virus that spread throughout my office bringing me the Black Death and that helps a lot.

After dinner, I went to see the new Charlize Theron flick “Young Adult.”  I thought I knew what to expect but I was wrong and it was incredible in a dark way that I thoroughly enjoyed.  It was not the predictable schmaltzy feel good ending that ties everything up in a neat little package with a perfectly executed bow.  And I actually enjoyed Patton Oswald which says a lot.  I really dug it.  I wonder what that says about me.

While I was at the theater I was confronted with THIS lovely movie poster:

I actually burst out laughing when I saw it.  Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter?  I think the title says it all.  I immediately took a photo and posted it to Facebook thinking nothing could be more absurd or potentially entertaining than a dead president hunting blood sucking demons.  Then I learned it was a book and yup, it is now in my kindle because the very few people I accept book recommendations from gave it nothing but the highest marks.  Let’s hope it isn’t another Water for Elephants.  I know you people all love the book and movie but I have yet to make it through either, even when all I had to do on a 7 hour flight from Newark to Glasgow was watch OR read it.  Seriously.    So anyway, Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter.  I’ll let you know how that works out.

As it turns out, another upcoming movie caught my attention last night as well:  “Salmon Fishing in the Yemen.”  The title is self explanatory but here is the official overview from Amazon:

“For Dr. Alfred Jones, life is a quiet mixture of civil service at the National Centre for Fisheries Excellence and marriage to Mary—an ambitious, no-nonsense financier. But a strange turn of fate from an unexpected direction forces Jones to upend his existence and spend all of his time in pursuit of another man’s ludicrous dream. Can there be salmon in the Yemen? Science says no. But if resources are limitless and the visionary is inspired, maybe salmon fishing in the Yemen isn’t impossible. Then again, maybe nothing is.”

The trailer made it absolutely irresistible (Okay, Ewan McGregor and Scotland combined with an impossible plot line and I am in every time).  Like the devout reader I am, I immediately looked to see if it was based on a book and BAM it was in my Kindle before the preview even ended.  It is written in the form of diary extracts and correspondence which means you will love it or hate it based on format alone.  Personally, I find it to be a nice respite from the traditional and trust me, it carries the story well.

Oh, I haven’t mentioned my reading addition here before have I?  I read A LOT.  The advent of the Kindle app on my phone has taken reading to a whole new level because I can tote around an entire library with me.   It is absolutely amazing and certainly much neater and tidier than my old habit of piling five or six books on the nightstand. 

If I can’t run tonight, at least I have plenty to read.  Have a good day, all!

