Dear Menieres: I Hate You

I haven’t devoted a post to Meniere’s in awhile because well, I haven’t had too many issues with it.  There has been a little vertigo here and there, a little tinnitus and intermittent hearing loss but nothing big enough to really slow me down.  In fact, this time of year is usually good to me.  We (as in my doctors and I) are not exactly sure what it is about fall and winter but I tend to get a reprieve from Meniere’s.

Not this year.  Nope.

I was enjoying a perfectly normal weekend socializing with friends and family.  I was tired but having fun.  I ignored the persistent ringing in my ear and brushed off a couple waves of vertigo.  Sure, it was a little unusual but I have been working hard and let’s be honest, I was playing harder.  I mean, I hadn’t been able to run all weekend because I was too physically exhausted but again:  working hard, playing harder.

So it caught me completely by surprise when I had a small seizure out of nowhere in a restaurant while having dinner with friends.  Actually, it surprised me and scared the living daylights out of everyone I was with.  At least it happened after dessert.

The deal is I have Meniere’s.  I live it with it.  It’s not a big deal.  Okay, I spend a lot of time downplaying the impact it has on my life but then again I also spend more time not letting it interfere with my life.  This is a tight circle of friends.  We have seen the good, the bad, and the ugly.  The gang has seen me get a little wobbly from time to time.  They have even heard about these funky seizure thingies.  But this was the first time any of them had actually seen it up close and personal.

And for me, it was absolutely embarrassing.  Mortifying actually.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love these people and I know they love me, but coming out of my chair at a restaurant, twitching and disoriented isn’t exactly the memory you want your friends to have at a birthday party.  Sure, they are supposed to hold my hair back after too much wine but NOT witness THAT.

The thing about great friends is that they don’t care if you make a complete ass out of yourself, intentionally, unintentionally or by way of medical condition.  Sure, there are always going to be people who freak out or are at the very least uncomfortable with the idea that I may have a drop attack or worse a seizure.  But the real friends are the ones who can laugh with me about that one time I fell right out of the chair after dessert.

