Thanksgiving, Turkey Trots and More Random Things

After spending years of our four day Thanksgiving weekends (remember those, people?) traveling hundreds of miles to attend three to four separate holiday dinners with friends and family, Bill and I decided to start a new tradition:  Thanksgiving at home.  Novel concept, I know. 

For the past six years we have enjoyed playing host of crowds large and small, where last minute guests are always welcome and there isn’t the obnoxious pretense or need for the right holiday sweater.  Don’t get me wrong, I love to decorate for the occasion and we spend months planning the menu but we are also not slaves to our dinner.  Instead, we watch football, tell stories, eat food and just enjoy life. 

This year, we did something a little different and judging by the guilt free after dinner pie eating I hope it will become a new holiday tradition:  the Turkey Trot.

My parents and I (staring into the sun!)

Instead of getting up at the crack of dawn to put the bird in the oven, we all headed out to Scheels at the Sparks Marina for a little Turkey Trot action! 

Bill and I

My parents and Bill headed out to the two miler while I set off for the 10K with the gang at Reno Running and Fitness.  It was a blast!  And despite the fact that I felt like I was running with five turkeys strapped to my chest the entire way, I even managed a new PR. 

Coralled up behind the 8-10 minute group because it doesn't matter if it is a 5K, 10K or 10mi, I will apparently run 11 minute miles.

And my family?  They all finished with great stories to tell about dodging strollers, social facilitation and even exceeding their goals.  I am so proud of all of them! 

They are cold but victorious!

And the result?  Sure, we didn’t burn off nearly enough calories to offset the feast before us but we got out and moved – and had a lot of fun doing it! 

This is fellow RRFer Roland. He inspires me...and always makes me laugh!

I also thoroughly enjoyed the RRF turkey caterpillar.  I failed to get a good photo of it, but imagine a whole group of runners tied together wearing turkey hats, tail feathers for 6.2 miles.  AMAZING!

See? My photo sucked.

Afterwards, we got right on task (by way of Starbucks), preparing The Feast, watching football, playing with dogs and having a great time together!  (Even if my 49ers LOST.  Seriously, boys?!)

As cheesy as it is, here is what I am thankful for:

My Family and Friends:  I don’t say it enough but I am profoundly grateful for my family and friends.   You guys rock!

My Dogs:  They are amazing and I can always count on them to put on a smile on my face, whether it be setting a record in sports or absconding with my dad’s knitting project when he  isn’t looking (two things: yes my dad knits.  He is amazing.  Second, this was hysterical!).

Starbucks:   Don’t judge me.  Where else could I get a tasty iced egg nog chai on Thanksgiving Day after running a race? 

Running:  It saves my sanity, keeps me motivated and well I just love it!  Along those lines I am also grateful for the incredible folks at Reno Running and Fitness.  First, they are proof that I am not alone in my running obsession and second, they are pretty darned and awesome and fun to be with.

Pre-Turkey Trot Group Shot

There are tons of other things I am thankful for (like brussell sprouts and Bill’s kick ass pumpkin pie) but that would just be boring.

