It’s goal time, baby!

Lake Tahoe 10K, 2011

When I finished my first 5K in well over 10 years this past April, a friend of mine suggested shooting for the Lake Tahoe 10K in September.  That goal seemed like such a stretch at the time:  6.2 miles in Tahoe?  SERIOUSLY?  I could barely run/walk 3 miles!  But I was determined to do it.  So I worked hard.  I focused.  I trained regularly.  And while I wasn’t always perfect at it, I put in the effort and the miles.  I benefited physically and mentally from taking on that challenge and now that I have completed that challenge it is time for a new goal.  Not just any goal mind you but a challenging one that I would really have to push myself to achieve.  Surprisingly, I ran in my first 10K just two months after that 5K.  It wasn’t pretty by any means, but I did it and by the time the Lake Tahoe 10K rolled around I was more than up for the challenge.  In fact, I was downright giddy.

With the Lake Tahoe 10K behind me, I need a new goal.  Not just any goal mind you but a challenging one that I would really have to push myself to achieve.   I’ve had this goal in mind for awhile.  I’ve even mentioned it a few times here.  But now it is time to set the goal and select the target event.  So without any further ado, let’s make this official:

Hear ye, hear ye!  I will run the Davis Stampede Half Marathon on February 5, 2012.

I will have to work hard.  I will have to up the miles.  It may not be pretty but I not only love to run I know I can do this.  I am strong.  I am fit.  I am determined.  And I have the best darned support network I could ask for!

