I’m baaaaaaaaack!

My three week holiday abroad was absolutely incredible and amazing.  AMAZING.  It was truly a once in a lifetime experience.  There will be more posts on this topic, including a race report from my first Scottish Hill Racing experience (OH MY GOD) but first, I just have to say I am proud of myself.

 

Hiking in Edinburgh: You know you love my tights!

I set the goal of maintaining my weight loss without depriving myself of the experience and I did just that.  In fact, I came home two pounds lighter than when I left despite the fact that I ate whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted.  I enjoyed beer, wine and whiskey.  I even drank soda (gasp!).  But I made smart choices and ate appropriate portions.  I walked places instead of taking taxis and elevators whenever I could.  I even ran.  In fact, I competed in a hill race!  I literally did a happy dance on my scale when it lit up two pounds lower than when I left.  Yeah, baby!

Of course, as soon as I got home it was off to work for long days during a special event.  Not just any special event, mind you:  a food event.  Six days of over indulgence to be exact.  Barbequed, deep fried, sugary indulgence.  And with fifteen hour work days plus getting caught up from three weeks away one would think the fat chick in me take over.  No such luck, girlie.  Sure I enjoyed a few of my favorite foods – but instead of ordering whole orders and consuming them myself every day, I picked up one order the entire week and shared with others.  And at no point did I feel deprived.  The event is over and while I am exhausted, I am down another two pounds.  Last year, I was not only exhausted but bloated and feeling pretty icky. 

So there you have it:  I actually managed to lose weight over the course of four weeks where my only goal was to maintain. 

Now it is back to “real life.”  The event ended Monday night so on Tuesday night, I was back at the gym working out.  I would be lying if I said the gym didn’t kick my ass.  It did.  I have a better understanding of the term, “Use it or lose it” after last night.  The running portion of my workout was a breeze.  Of course it was!  I ran my entire vacation!  But do you think I did a single push-up, plank or sit up?  Hell no.  I was able to muddle through my push-ups and my planks were surprisingly not bad.  I tortured myself through kayaks and managed to pull off 80 crunches.  But remember those sit ups I was so excited about before I left?  GONE.  I made it through two and found myself flat on my back in the middle of the gym.  Awesome.  But this morning I woke up just a wee bit sore around the middle and still headed out for my run with Drew and Penelope.  I will have my sits ups back in no time because I am NOT giving up.

I have some great motivation over the next few weeks to keep me on track.  I have races the next three Sundays starting with the Fight for Air 5K, then the Journal Jog 8K and ending with a 10K at the Lake Tahoe Marathon Series.  And I will break 200 lbs before the Warrior Dash at the end of October.

