Recipe: Tomato Vegetable Soup

Last week, my husband and I fell in love with a tomato vegetable soup at a local vegetarian eatery.  The soup was deliciously simple and fresh.  My husband immediately asked for the recipe and we were told there was none but they gave us an overview of how it is made.  In short, this soup would be a little different each time we saw it on the board.  This was both disconcerting and exciting at the same time.  But we are adventurous, we love this joint and the soup was simply amazing so we decided to give it a try at home.

It is quite possibly the easiest

(and if you ask my husband the most delicious) 

soup I have ever made!

I am not exaggerating.  It took less than five minutes to clean and chop the veggies and get them in the pot.  Everything was loaded into the pot at the same time and 45 minutes later we had a brightly colored, flavorful and light soup that made our hearts and our stomachs sing.

Let’s get to it, then shall we?

Remember, this is less of a recipe and more of a general outline. If you want more carrots and less zucchini, more power to you.  If you want more celery and less onion, I don’t get it but have fun.  Cilantro gives s bright and summery flavor while basil gives a warmer homey feel.  Heck, use something else entirely to achieve the feel you want.  Most importantly, season to YOUR taste! 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup zucchini
  • 1 cup yellow crookneck squash
  • 1 medium yellow onion
  • 1 large bell pepper of any color
  • 5 stalks of celery
  • 5 carrots
  • 1 medium large yellow onion
  • 1.5 cups corn (I used fresh frozen)
  • 1 -15 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 Serrano pepper
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • Handful of cilantro or basil, finely torn

Bring 8 cups of water to a boil in a large stock pot.  Add all ingredients.  Boil on medium until veggies reach desired tenderness (approximately 45 minutes), stirring periodically.  You may need to add water about half way through depending on how the veggies cook down.  Season to taste and serve.  Yields approximately 8 hefty servings and trust me, you will fight over who gets the leftovers. 

Serving Ideas:  Garnish with a little feta or serve over quinoa (my favorite!).  Toss in some chickpeas or cook with pearl barley (add more water if you do this!).  Regardless, enjoy with fresh bread.

A few notes:  I am sure you have noticed that no broth was used to make this soup.  The original overview called for 5 cups of vegetable broth and 3 cups of water.  Since sodium is always an issue for me, I opted to go for straight water.  I am happy I did because the soup was so aromatic and delicious on its own it required very minimal seasoning!  In fact, next time, I will be subbing out the canned tomatoes and replacing with fresh to reduce sodium even further (and kick up the flavor!).

