Recipe: Nutty Oat Snack Bars

This time of year I am always on the move and I need a quick and easy snack to keep me going.  The problem is, most convenient snacks and protein bars are packed with preservatives, sodium and other stuff that I frankly would rather not consume.  Enter my own snack bar, or more accurately crunch snack square.  The first batch I made was promptly whisked away by my parents who absolutely adored it.  The second batch disapeared into the purses of friends.  This weekend, I had to fend off mauraders at camp to save a couple for myself.   Fortunately, they take less than 20 minutes to make (including baking time) and one can easily change up ingredients to keep it fresh and tasty depending on one’s mood.  So without further ado, I present my Nutty Oat Snack Bars:

The Ingredients

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups Oats
  • 2 tbs Shredded Coconut
  • 2 tbs Raw Pumpkin Seeds
  • 2 tbs Raw Almond Slivers
  • 2 tbs Raw Sunflower Seeds
  • 2 tbs Flax Seed (optional)
  • 1/4 cup Almond Butter
  • 1/4 cup Honey

How yummy is this?!

Instructions:  Combine all ingredients except almond butter and honey in a mixing bowl.  Combine honey and almond butter in a microwave safe bowl.  Microwave for 45 seconds.  Pour over dry ingredients.  Mix thoroughly. 

Press well into the back pan or glass dish.

Poor into a well greased 8 x 8 pan.  Bake for 15 minutes at 350 or until lightly golden brown.  Score and allow to cool.  Cut and package.

The finished tasty square...

Other ideas:  mix in your favorite dried fruit, different types of nuts, a touch of chocolate or even a little cinnamon to create different flavors. 

