Food For Thought

As I have been focusing in more and more on what I eat, I have on more than one occasion surprisingly found myself ethically at odds with my love of meat.  As a long time meat eater, I have been surprised that in my efforts to both manage Meniere’s and my overall health I have unconsciously phased nearly all meat from my diet yet neither miss it nor want it.  This has led me to contemplate vegetarianism.  One of the arguments against vegetarianism that has plagued me is that we as a species have always eaten meat.  Then today while reading my local newspaper I stumbled accross the quote below.

People often say that humans have always eaten animals as if this is a justification for continuing the practice. According to this logic, we should not try to prevent people from murdering other people, since this has also been done since the earliest of times.

Isaac Bashevis Singer, Nobel prize winning author

Good point.  The jury is still out on this one, but this has certainly given me more food for thought.

