It’s not a diet. It’s a lifestyle change.

Moi, May 2009

I am a fat chick but over the past few months, I have lost and managed to keep of a significant amount of weight and have even starting running again.  I am frequently asked what diet plan I am using.  The answer is, in short, none.  I prefer to think of this as a lifestyle change to promote better overall health and fitness.  I am an outgoing, adventurous and active thirty something with plenty of life to live and I would like to live it to the fullest.  It is not as simple as waking up one morning and saying, “Let’s do this thing!” however.  

Because of the interest I have received, I will dedicate the next few posts to exactly what I am in doing in hopes that it might not only entertain but even help or inspire. 

First things first:  Why?

Like most people, lack of motivation was a factor for me.  I am very busy and easily found excuses to indulge in poor food choices or put off going to the gym for one reason or the other.    This was spurred on by the fact that I was actually quite comfortable with myself.  I had not met with any limitation or restriction due to my size and despite living with Meniere’s Disease, I was actually very healthy and surprisingly fit.  I was a happy, healthy, confident fat chick.  Why change?

What flipped the switch was a pending trip to Scotland.  A three week excursion to be exact.  This means long flights, bus rides and days on end of walking, stair climbing and even hiking.  For me, that would be done toting around 40 lbs of camera gear nearly everywhere I went.  In short, this is a once in a lifetime opportunity and I wanted to make every minute count.  Plus, I wanted to look great in the photos that would inevitably return home with me.  So after spending a few years thinking about a lifestyle change, I decided to take the plunge so that I could kick ass in the highlands of Scotland and look awesome doing so.  Bring on the tartan.

Next on the agenda…figuring out how the heck I am going to do this.

